The management of the Federal University Ndufu Alike (FUNAI) has released the academic calendar for 2016/2017 academic session.

funai logo

The break down of academic activities is as indicated on the table below;




EVENT DATE
FIRST SEMESTER
Staff retreat/ Orientation in preparation for the new academic session Wednesday, 5th October – Friday, 7th October, 2016
Arrival of returning students, provision of accommodation Saturday, 15th October, 2016
Registration starts for returning students Monday, 17th October, 2016
Interdenominational service to inaugurate the academic session Sunday 23rd October, 2016
Commencement of 1st semester lectures for returning students Monday, 24th October, 2016
Arrival of freshmen, provision of accommodation and registration for freshmen Monday, 7th November, 2016
Commencement of 1st semester lectures for freshmen Monday, 14th November, 2016
Registration for courses end for returning students Friday, 25th November, 2016
Convocation Saturday, 26th November, 2016
Vice-Chancellor meets with Students and Staff Wednesday, 30th November, 2016
University Orientation for fresh students Thursday 1st December & Friday 2nd December 2016
Mid-Semester Examination for returning students Monday, 12th December– Friday 16th December 2016
Registration for courses end for freshmen Friday, 16th December 2016
Christmas Break/ students depart from campus Saturday, 17th December – Saturday, 7th January, 2017
Students return to campus Sunday, 8th January, 2017
Continuation of 1st Semester lectures Monday, 9th January, 2017
Matriculation Wednesday, 11th January, 2017
Mid-Semester Examination for freshmen Monday, 16th January, – Friday 20th January, 2017
Last day for submission of Mid-Semester Exam result to the department for processing Thursday, 9th February, 2017
Revision week for returning students Monday, 6th February – Friday, 11th February, 2017
1st semester examination (200 -400 levels) Monday, 13th February – Friday 24th February, 2017
Revision week for freshmen Monday, 27th February – Friday, 3rd March, 2017
1st semester examination (100 level) Monday, 6th March – Friday 17th March 2017
End of 1st semester/Students vacate campus Sunday, 19th March, 2017
Marking and submission of 1st Semester exam scripts/results to the department Thursday 30th March, 2017
SECOND SEMESTER
Students return to campus Saturday, 25th March, 2017
Lectures begin Monday, 27th March, 2017
Easter Break Thursday, 13th April – Friday 21st April, 2017
Faculty boards meet to consider 1st Semester results Wednesday 19th April, 2017
Mid-Semester Examination Monday, 15th May, 2017- Friday, 19th May, 2017
Senate meet to approve 1st semester result Wednesday 24th May, 2017
Last day for the submission of 1st semester students’ result to the Registry (Exams and Records) Friday 26th May, 2017
Deadline for submission of 2nd semester Mid-semester Exam results to the HOD Thursday, 1st June, 2017
Thanksgiving service to mark the end of the session Sunday, 2nd July, 2017
Revision week Monday, 3rd July , 2017 – Friday, 7th July, 2017
Examination Monday 10th July, 2017- Friday, 21st July, 2017
Break /students depart university campus Saturday 22nd July, 2017
Marking and submission of 2nd Semester exam scripts/results to the department Thursday 3rd August, 2017
Faculty Boards meet to consider 2nd Semester results Wednesday 16th August, 2017
Senate meet to approve 2nd semester result Wednesday 30th August, 2017
Last day for the submission of 2nd semester students’ result to the Registry (Exams and Records) Friday 1st September, 2017
SUMMARY OF ACADEMIC SESSION
First semester Second semester
Registration – 1 week Registration – 0
Lectures – 11 weeks Lectures – 12 weeks
Mid-Semester Test – 1 week Mid-Semester Test – 1 Week
Student’s week – 0 week Revision – 1 week
Revision – 1 week Examination – 2 weeks
Examination – 2 weeks
Total – 16 weeks Total – 16 weeks
STATUTORY PROGRAMMES
1st Wednesday of every month (Semester Time ) Staff developmental workshop/seminar
2nd Wednesday of every month(Semester Time ) Departmental research seminars series & meetings
3rd Wednesday of every month (Semester Time ) Faculty Board Meetings
Last Wednesday of every month (Semester Time ) Senate Meeting

Leave a Comment





Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Subscribe!